Our history

Ibusa Sports Club


The History of Ibusa dates back to the 16th century while the history of Ibusa soccer championship is traced to 1952, when late chief Peter Halim of Nkpanyala quarters in Umuekea village, Ibusa initiated the first soccer competition. He used it as a forum to bring together the youths of Ibusa. This project did not last long due to lack of interest among the youths of the then age.

However; in 1985, a group of football enthusiasts came up in the name of Unisburg FC of Ibusa, and organized the first edition of Ibusa Sports championship in December, 1985. The aim was to bring together other football enthusiasts within Ibusa and to entertain people during the yuletide (Christmas season). Notable pioneer members of the Unisburg FC of Ibusa in 1985 were: Gelu Okonji (G10) aka “Genagel” of Umukanyia, Umueze; Late Patrick Ogonor of Umuekea, Emma Kwasa Amatokwu aka “Tozo” of Umuisagba, Moses Nwaokolo of Ogbowele, Emily of Umuekea, and Late Celestine Nzekwue of Ogbeowele.



These developments under the administrative leadership of late chief Ofuani as the chairman of Ibusa sports club and chief Johnbull Odume of Anyaluobum as the patron witnessed a successive transformation through the immense contributions off the likes of Mr. Kwasa Emma Amatokwu, Chief Nwanneka Oraegbu, Mr. Tony Unoka, Mr. Chike Onyia among others. It was the group that coined the first edition of rules and regulations that guided the competition for over a decade. This era was described as the transformation era as the activities of Ibusa sports club. Excited some much positive influence on neighbouring communities – Asbaa, Okpanam; Ogwashi-Uku; because all the teen (10) villages in Ibusa had become a whole part of the competition with all the villages exacting soccer prowess to lift up the golden trophy.


Since the inception of Ibusa soccer championship, record keeping has been one the best achievements we have made. Making sure that we have all our records update to date for future references.

We have made headways to compile the comprehensive list in our record

View in-depth stats for Ibusa soccer championship records, including most title wins, winners’ medals and assists, heroes of Ibusa soccer championship, popular soccer stars on the official website.


History records it, that the first edition of the championship in 1985 witnessed only six (6) villages participating in the competition with the payment of a registration fee of fifty kobo (50k), only. The championship was funded through goodwill donations in cash and kind, as the organizers embarked on house-to-house appeal for funds. It was at this juncture that the interest of Mr. Santos Halim, a gifted hand in arts and crafts and hails from Nkpanyala, Umuekea-Ibusa was caught in web.

In his contribution, he donated a crafted soccer trophy- a molded trophy coated in gold. The championship was hosted at the Umejei primary school playground (Sacred Heart School), Ibusa.

The jersey used at this era was not completely uniform and the players, played on barefoot. A very few had their leather and rubber soccer boots. History further records that the championship ended with Ogbeowele defeating Umuodafe FC by four (4) goals to one (1) in a penalty shot-out to lift-up the golden trophy.

This development was greatly applauded by Ibusa sons and daughters at home who watched and followed the championship with keen interest and excitement.

In 1987, Chief (Dr.) Austin Nonyelim Izagbo of Umueze, Ibusa, in his crave for the development of sports and to sustain the competition donated the first’s English trophy (a metallic silver plated trophy). This donation challenged and spurred distinguished/prominent indigenes of Ibusa to donate and fund the competition, which became the delight of every indigene of Ibusa, come; yuletide – December. Among donors of trophy that brought the competition to become an

Ibusa culture and annual event were: Chief Jude Okonmah of Ogbeowele, Chief (Br.) Fred Ajudua of Umuodafe and Honourable Patrick Mozea of Ogbeowele. Others who donated trophies for best goalkeepers award, most valuable player (MVP) awards and higher goal soccer awards were: Late Chief Levi Ezeama Ajufo of Umuehea, Mr. Illoba Peter-pan Okonji of Ogboli (based in London), Mrs. Patsy Umunna of Umuodafe, and Mr. and Mrs. Felix Iwugo of Umuisagba (Based in US).



In 2006, Ibusa sports club, took a step forward to a national oriented and FIFA standard with the emergence of Chief Levi Ajufo (Ezeamaoge chi) as the chairman, succeeding Chief Nwanneka Oraegbu. As seasoned sports administrators of international reputes, he established the first ISC secretariat. He improved the poor existing and local means of communication and PR in ISC.

Furthermore, the pace of security during ISC championship was strengthened and beefed –up; and policies for discipline of members and affiliate members instituted.

In 2007, the sudden demise of late Levi Ajufo, brought Mr. Patrick Nnamdi Abuah as chairman. In succession, Mr. IIfenayi Mozea emerged chairman in 2010.

In 2011, Mr. Emma Nkenchor Mowetei emerged the chairman with Mr. Francis Chim (Cantter) as the secretary. These wonderful pair worked assiduously and ISC was further transformed.

In 2013, Mr. Emma Nkenchor Mowetei, a retired educationists and prudent banker. (Now a business man) emerged as chairman, to assert our local adage: “Akwuu dimma kawaa egbu ekpe naba” which means that a rich and fertile soil (farmland) is worthy to be cultivated twice.

The administration of Mr. Emma Mowetei with Comrade Justin Okonta as secretary has gone miles to bringing successive change in the administrative management of Ibusa sports club and organization of her annual soccer

Championship through prudent management of funds effective dissemination of information’s, seasoned administrative policies and innovations that marry the visions of the present day. This testimony of excellence is possible and realistic through the immense contributions of Mr. Patrick Chukwuyem Ojei, Mr. Christopher Dinna Ogbolu, Mr. Patrick Okeleke, honourable Adim Otoma, Mr. Chima Canter Francis, Mr. Abuah Patrick, Mrs. Florence Chima, Mr. Polycarp Chizea, Mrs. Josephine Adigwe, Mr. Tony Anene, Mr. Kenneth Ojeah and a host of other executive members of Ibusa sports. The strong wheel behind this whole success story- : Ibusa sports gabaa nihu” is just one man – “Tozo”, Kwasa Amatokwu.

Canada participates in the first Pan American Games in Winnipeg, Manitoba
American football as a whole is the most popular sport in the United States; professional football and college football are the most popular forms of the game, with the other major levels being high school and youth football. As of 2012, nearly 1.1 million high school athletes and 70,000 college athletes play the sport in the United States annually.
The Canadian Men’s National Team is named the Team of the Year
The term "football" was officially established in the rulebook for the 1876 college football season, when the sport first shifted from soccer-style rules to rugby-style rules; although it could easily have been called "rugby" at this point, Harvard, one of the primary proponents of the rugby-style game.
Canada successfully hosts the Women’s World Championship in Toronto, Ontario
In the United States, American football is referred to as "football. In English-speaking countries where other codes of football are popular, such as the United Kingdom, Ireland, Canada, New Zealand, and Australia, the terms "gridiron" or "American football" are favored instead.
The Canadian Men’s National Team is named the Team of the Year
What is considered to be the first American football game was played on November 6, 1869 between Rutgers and Princeton, two college teams. The game was played between two teams of 25 players each and used a round ball that could not be picked up or carried.

We are on Instagram